Divisions
Faculty
Research Areas

Leadership

Harsha Thirumurthy

Harsha Thirumurthy, PhD

  • Interim Division Chief of Health Policy
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Associate Director, Center for Health Incentives & Behavioral Economics (CHIBE)
  • Co-Director, Penn Research Development Initiative (PDRI)
  • Co-Director, Behavioral Economics and Global Health Insights Lab
hthirumu@upenn.edu @hthirumurthy

Primary Faculty

Alon Bergman

Alon Bergman, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Assistant Professor of Health Care Management in the Wharton School
alonberg@wharton.upenn.edu
Norma B. Coe

Norma B. Coe, PhD

  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Director of PEDAL Lab
  • Co-Director of PARC
nbcoe@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Ezekiel J. Emanuel

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, PhD

  • Diane v.S. Levy & Robert M. Levy Professor
  • Vice Provost for Global Initiatives
  • Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor
vp-global@upenn.edu
Laura Gibson

Laura Gibson, PhD

  • Research Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Deputy Director, PEACH Lab
215-898-7093 gibla@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Sophia Hua

Sophia Hua, PhD, MPH

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Sophia.Hua@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Risa Lavizzo-Mourey

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA

  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Population Health and Health Equity Professor Emerita
risa.lavizzo-mourey@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Amol S. Navathe

Amol S. Navathe, MD, PhD

  • Associate Professor, Health Policy and Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
  • Co-Director, Healthcare Transformation Institute
  • Associate Director, Center for Health Incentives & Behavioral Economics (CHIBE)
  • Vice Chair, Medicare Payment Advisory Commission, US Congress
  • Co-Editor-in-Chief, HealthCare: the Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation
amol@wharton.upenn.edu @AmolNavathe
Ravi B. Parikh

Ravi B. Parikh, MD, MPP, FACP

  • Assistant Professor in the Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy and Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Staff Physician at the Corporal Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center
  • Director of the Human-Algorithm Collaboration Lab
ravi.parikh@pennmedicine.upenn.edu @ravi_b_parikh
Christina A. Roberto

Christina A. Roberto, PhD

  • Mitchell J. Blutt and Margo Krody Blutt Presidential Associate Professor of Health Policy
  • Director of the PEACH Lab
  • Associate Director of CHIBE
croberto@pennmedicine.upenn.edu @RobertoCA
Aaron Schwartz

Aaron Schwartz, MD, PhD

  • Assistant Professor, Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Assistant Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine
Aaron.Schwartz@pennmedicine.upenn.edu @A_Schwa
Atheendar Venkataramani

Atheendar Venkataramani, MD, PhD

  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Director of the Opportunity for Health Lab
atheenv@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Kevin Volpp

Kevin Volpp, MD, PhD

  • Director, Center for Health Incentives & Behavioral Economics
  • Mark V. Pauly President’s Distinguished Professor at Perelman School of Medicine and Health Care Management at the Wharton School
volpp70@wharton.upenn.edu @kevin_volpp

Affiliated Faculty

David A. Asch

David A. Asch, MD, MBA

  • Senior Vice Dean for Strategic Initiatives, Perelman School of Medicine
  • Professor of Medicine - Perelman School of Medicine
  • Professor of Health Care Management and of Operations, Information and Decisions at the Wharton School
  • Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
asch@wharton.upenn.edu
Justin E. Bekelman

Justin E. Bekelman, MD

  • Marietta and Howard Stoeckel Professor, Perelman School of Medicine
justin.bekelman@uphs.upenn.edu
Cheryl Bettigole

Cheryl Bettigole, MD, MPH

  • Commissioner for the Philadelphia Department of Public Health
  • Adjunct Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Alison M. Buttenheim

Alison M. Buttenheim, PhD, MBA

  • Patricia Bleznak Silverstein and Howard A. Silverstein Endowed Term Chair in Global Women's Health
  • Associate Professor of Health Policy in the Division of Health Policy, Perelman School of Medicine
  • Scientific Director of CHIBE
  • Associate Professor of Nursing in the Department of Family and Community Health, School of Nursing
abutt@nursing.upenn.edu @abuttenheim
Patrick H. Conway

Patrick H. Conway, MD

  • CEO of Care Solutions at Optum at UnitedHealth Group
  • Adjunct Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Guy David

Guy David, PhD

  • Alan B. MillerProfessor of Health Care Management, The Wharton School
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
gdavid2@wharton.upenn.edu
Ari B. Friedman

Ari B. Friedman, MD, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Senior Fellow of the Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
arib@alumni.upenn.edu
Karen Glanz

Karen Glanz, PhD, MPH

  • George A. Weiss University Professor
  • Professor of Epidemiology, Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Informatics, PSOM
  • Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
kglanz@upenn.edu
Julian J. Harris

Julian J. Harris, MD, MBA

  • Partner, Health Care Services and Technology, at Deerfield
  • Adjunct Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Julian.harris@concertocare.com
Barbara E. Kahn

Barbara E. Kahn, PhD, MBA, MPhil

  • Baker Professor of Marketing and the Director of Baker Retailing Center at The Wharton School
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
kahn@wharton.upenn.edu
Eliza Kinsey

Eliza Kinsey, PhD, MPH, MS, MA

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Assistant Professor of Family Medicine & Community Health
eliza.kinsey@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Shivan J. Mehta

Shivan J. Mehta, MD, MBA, MSHP

  • Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Associate Chief Innovation Officer, Penn Medicine
  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
shivan.mehta@uphs.upenn.edu
Raina M. Merchant

Raina M. Merchant, MD, MSHP, FAHA

  • Associate Vice President at Penn Medicine
  • Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Director of the Penn Medicine Center for Digital Health
  • Co-Director of the Penn National Clinician Scholars Program
  • Professor, Medical Ethics & Health Policy
raina.merchant@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Katherine L. Milkman

Katherine L. Milkman, PhD

  • Evan C. Thompson Endowed Term Chair for Excellence in Teaching
  • Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Co-Director of Behavior Change for Good Initiative
  • Professor of Operations, Information and Decisions, Wharton
kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu @katy_milkman
Mark V. Pauly

Mark V. Pauly, PhD

  • John M. Bendheim, W’40 and Thomas L. Bendheim, WG’90 Professor Emeritus of Health Care Management
pauly@wharton.upenn.edu
K. Srinath Reddy

K. Srinath Reddy, MD, DM, MSc

  • President, Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI)
  • Adjunct Professor, Medical Ethics and Health Policy
ksrinath.reddy@phfi.org
Roy Rosin

Roy Rosin, MBA

  • Chief Innovation Officer, Penn Medicine
  • Adjunct Professor, Medical Ethics & Health Policy
Roy.Rosin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Louise B. Russell

Louise B. Russell, PhD

  • Adjunct Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
louisebrussell1983@gmail.com
Christian Terwiesch

Christian Terwiesch, PhD

  • Andrew M. Heller Professor at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
terwiesch@wharton.upenn.edu @terwiesch
Rachel Werner

Rachel Werner, MD, PhD

  • Executive Director, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics (LDI)
  • Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine
  • Robert D. Eilers Professor, Health Care Management, Wharton School
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
rwerner@upenn.edu

Loading tweets...