Faculty

Divisions
Faculty
Research Areas

Leadership

Ezekiel J. Emanuel

Ezekiel J. Emanuel , MD, PhD

  • Diane v.S. Levy & Robert M. Levy Professor
  • Vice Provost for Global Initiatives
  • Chair, Department of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor
MEHPchair@upenn.edu
Steven Joffe

Steven Joffe , MD, MPH

  • Chief, Division of Medical Ethics
  • Emanuel and Robert Hart Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Professor of Pediatrics
joffes@upenn.edu @SteveJoffe

Primary Faculty

Autumn Fiester

Autumn Fiester , PhD

  • Associate Professor
  • Associate Chair for Education & Training
  • Director, Penn Program in Clinical Conflict Management
fiester@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Emily Largent

Emily Largent , JD, PhD, RN

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
elargent@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Holly Fernandez Lynch

Holly Fernandez Lynch , JD, MBe

  • John Russell Dickson, MD Presidential Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Assistant Faculty Director of Online Education
  • Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
lynchhf@pennmedicine.upenn.edu @HollyLynchez
Matthew McCoy

Matthew McCoy , PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
mmcco@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Jon F. Merz

Jon F. Merz , JD, PhD, MBA

  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
merz@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Jonathan D. Moreno, PhD

Jonathan D. Moreno, PhD

  • David & Lyn Silfen University Professor, Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy and of History & Sociology of Science
  • Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor
  • Professor of Philosophy (by courtesy)
morenojd@pennmedicine.upenn.edu @pennprof
Pamela Sankar

Pamela Sankar , PhD

  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
sankarp@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Harald Schmidt

Harald Schmidt , MA, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Research Associate, Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics
  • Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute
schmidth@upenn.edu
Dominic A. Sisti

Dominic A. Sisti , PhD

  • Director, Scattergood Program for Applied Ethics in Behavioral Health Care
  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
  • Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • Senior Fellow, The Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
  • Fellow, Center for Public Health Initiatives
  • Affiliated Faculty, The Quattrone Center for the Fair Administration of Justice
sistid@upenn.edu @DomSisti
Lance Walhert

Lance Walhert , PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Master of Bioethics (MBE) Program Director
  • Director, Project on Bioethics, Sexuality, and Gender Identity
  • Core Faculty, Alice Paul Center for Research on Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies
lwahlert@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Jill M. Baren

Jill M. Baren , MD, MBE, FACEP, FAAP

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine, Perelman School of Medicine
  • Chief, Emergency Services, University of Pennsylvania Health System
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
jill.baren@uphs.upenn.edu
Edward J. Bergman

Edward J. Bergman , JD

  • Founding Faculty, Penn Program in Clinical Conflict Management
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • Affiliated Faculty, Department of Legal Studies and Business Ethics, Wharton School of Business
ejb@gear3.net
Angela R. Bradbury

Angela R. Bradbury , MD

  • Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
angela.bradbury@uphs.upenn.edu
Susan S. Ellenberg

Susan S. Ellenberg , PhD

  • Professor of Biostatistics, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
  • Senior Scholar, Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistic
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
sellenbe@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Martha J. Farah

Martha J. Farah , PhD

  • Walter H. Annenberg Professor in Natural Sciences
  • Director, Center for Neuroscience & Society
  • Professor of Psychology
  • Secondary Professor in Department of Neurology, PSOM; Medical Ethics and Health Policy; Human Development and Quantitative Methods, GSE
mfarah@upenn.edu
Eric A. Feldman

Eric A. Feldman , JD, PhD

  • Professor of Law
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
efeldman@law.upenn.edu
Chris Feudtner

Chris Feudtner , MD, PhD, MPH

  • Steven D. Handler Endowed Chair of Medical Ethics, The Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Attending Physician & Research Director, PACT & ICS; The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
feudtner@email.chop.edu
Scott D. Halpern

Scott D. Halpern , MD, PhD, MBE

  • Founding Director, Palliative and Advanced Illness Research Center (PAIR)
  • Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Medical Ethics and Health Policy
  • CHIBE Steering Committee
shalpern@upenn.edu @ScottHalpernMD
Genevieve P. Kanter

Genevieve P. Kanter , PhD

  • Research Assistant Professor of Medicine
  • Research Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
gpkanter@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Jason Karlawish

Jason Karlawish , MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
jason.karlawish@upenn.edu @jasonkarlawish
Joshua B. Kayser

Joshua B. Kayser , MD, MPH, MBE

  • Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
  • Medical Intensive Care Unit, Cpl. Michael J. Crescenz VA Medical Center
  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
joshua.kayser@va.gov
Paul Lanken

Paul Lanken , MD

  • Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Medical Ethics & Health Policy
paul.lanken@uphs.upenn.edu
Victoria A. Miller

Victoria A. Miller , PhD

  • Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Director of Research, Division of Adolescent Medicine, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
millerv@email.chop.edu
Kim J. Overby

Kim J. Overby , MD, MBE

  • Adjunct Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
overbyk@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Peter P. Reese

Peter P. Reese , MD, MSCE

  • Associate Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
peter.reese@uphs.upenn.edu
Jennifer Prah Ruger

Jennifer Prah Ruger , PhD, MSc, MA, MSL

  • Amartya Sen Professor of Health Equity, Economics, and Policy, School of Social Policy and Practice
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
jenpr@upenn.edu
Connie Ulrich

Connie Ulrich , PhD, RN, FAAN

  • Lillian S. Brunner Chair in Medical and Surgical Nursing
  • Professor of Nursing
  • Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
culrich@nursing.upenn.edu
Jennifer K. Walter

Jennifer K. Walter , MD, PhD, MS

  • Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
  • Attending Physician in the Division of General Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
walterj1@email.chop.edu
Mary K. Walton

Mary K. Walton , MSN, MBE, RN

  • Director, Patient and Family Centered Care
  • Nurse Ethicist, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
mary.walton@uphs.upenn.edu

Loading tweets...